Forbes India 15th Anniversary Special

CNBC-TV18's India Business Leader Awards to honour the best in Indian businesses

Country's celebrated business icons will gather at a glittering ceremony in New Delhi on Tuesday

Published: Aug 29, 2016 08:51:16 AM IST
Updated: Aug 29, 2016 12:45:35 PM IST
CNBC-TV18's India Business Leader Awards to honour the best in Indian businesses
Image: Vikas Khot
HDFC Bank MD Aditya Puri has won the 'Outstanding Business Leader of the Year' award

The country’s biggest businessmen, brightest executives and budding entrepreneurs will come together at CNBC-TV18’s India Business Leader Awards (IBLA) 2015-16 in New Delhi on Tuesday, August 30, 2016.

Modelled on the prestigious CNBC - Asia Business Leader Awards, IBLA, presented by CNBC-TV18, aims to recognise leaders who create and sustain entrepreneurial initiatives, develop best practices and carve out powerful businesses in the global economy. This year’s prominent individual award winners include Wipro chairman Azim Premji (Lifetime Achievement), HDFC Bank MD Aditya Puri (Outstanding Business Leader of the Year), and Vinita Gupta, CEO of Lupin (Outstanding Woman Business Leader of the Year).

"The India Business Leader Awards are the definitive awards celebrating the spirit of excellence in business leadership in India. The recipients of the awards are visionaries behind today's outstanding businesses. They are stellar individuals who epitomise strength, ingenuity, knowledge, foresight and who drive the growth of their businesses with vision and inspiration. The India Business Leader Awards aims to recognise leaders who have made the difference, creating an edge above peers," according to the IBLA website.

The final winners were chosen by a jury comprising world-respected management strategists, academics and corporate personalities. The jury panel, headed by Uday Kotak (MD, Kotak Mahindra Bank) boasts some industry-admired names such as Shikha Sharma (Axis Bank), Cyril Shroff (Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas), VG Siddhartha (Coffee Day Enterprises) and Sanjay Nayar (KKR India).          

"The IBLA awards recognise some of those not ordinarily noticed. They are backed by thorough analyses and discussions, with a jury rooted in real businesses and incisive inputs on the various candidates and businesses,” Sanjay Nayar, CEO of KKR India, says.

The CNBC-TV18 editorial panel and research team used a three-phase methodology, shortlisting candidates after considering a combination of criteria, including financial performance, leadership, creativity, innovation and social responsibility. Candidates were also evaluated on their ability to create short-term advantage, long-term value, a competitive edge, and the demonstration of leadership in the business community.

According to Nayar, “The winners have, over the last few years, overcome a very uncertain global world, where demand and global trade has come under pressure and global liquidity has increased in a disinflationary world. Within India, we have seen a shrinkage in both demand and investments, before seeing better times more recently. So the winners are those who have stuck to their strategy, become cost leaders, strengthened their businesses and people practices, and driven innovation in sales and supply chains.”

Winning an IBLA is a defining moment for the leader and the company. The award for corporate excellence is an indication of greater achievements to come over time.

“The Indian Business Leader Awards last year displayed an exceptional composition of new-age game-changers and renowned industry icons representing multiple facets of leadership. For me, entrepreneurship is the ability to not only create and sustain organisations but also to take the ones they lead to greater heights amid challenges, create value for shareholders while impacting millions of lives. So these awards stand as a testimony to that entrepreneurial spirit in each of the winners and inspire the next generation of leaders that they can achieve excellence in whatever they are doing despite the challenges, Shikha Sharma, managing director and CEO of Axis Bank, says.

To know more about CNBC-TV18'S India Business Leader Awards 2015-16, visit:

(Disclaimer: CNBC-TV18 is a part of Network 18, the publisher of Forbes India)

Post Your Comment
Required, will not be published
All comments are moderated